SLIS Alumni Who Have Received The CUA Alumni Achievement Award

1982 – Jean Key Gates (MSLS 1951)

1983 – Virginia Carter Hills (BSLS 1951)

1985 – Peggy Sullivan (MSLS 1953)

Professor and Dean, College of Professional Studies, Northern Illinois University at time of award; served as ALA President 1980-81

1986 – Joseph E. Jeffs (MSLS 1955)

1987 – Marilyn E. Courtot (MSLS 1972)

1988 - Patricia W. Berger (MSLS 1974) Served as ALA President, 1989-90

1990 – Elizabeth W. Stone (MSLS 1961)

Former Dean of CUA School of Library and Information Science; Served as ALA President, 1981-82

1991 – David F. Bishop (MSLS 1965)

1992 – James C.Y. Soong (MSLS 1971) and Salvatore L. Costabile (MSLS 1963)

1994 – Catherine A. Jones (MSLS 1969)

1996 – Sr. Eymard Gallagher (MSLS 1961)

President of Marymount University at time of award

1998 – Carol Henderson (MSLS 1969)

Executive Director of ALA Washington Office at time of award

2000 – Judith Senkevitch (MSLS 1975)

Associate Dean, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Library and Information Science at time of award

2002 – Diane Nester Kresh (MSLS 1980)

Director of Library of Congress Public Service Collections at time of award

2003 – Sharon Bell Mathis (MSLS 1975)

Recipient of Coretta Scott King Award in 1974 for her biography of Ray Charles; other books cited as Newberry Award Honor Book and ALA Notable Books

2011 – Judith Russell (MSLS 1968)

Dean of University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries at time of award; from 2003-2007 served as Superintendent of Documents at the Government Printing Office (first woman and second librarian to hold this position)